[Solved] Excel Recommended Charts Tool

moklak

Hello,

My name is Mark A Oklak. I am an adjunct instructor at IVY Tech Community College - Indiana.
[email protected]

I am currently writing a course about Data Visualization for the college.

In the review of the course, one of the questions/concerns raised was with the Excel Recommended Charts tool. There was some concern that the recommended charts are not always the "best" charts for the datasets to be displayed. I was asked to address this, if possible.

I have done several online searches looking for articles I could link students to that discuss this issue. I have not found any. I was wondering if your site (or any other site/s you know of) has any articles, blog posts, etc., about when the Excel Chart Recommendation Tool may not provide the best recommendation/s.

Thank you for any help/guidance you can provide.

Mark

Hello,

My name is Mark A Oklak. I am an adjunct instructor at IVY Tech Community College - Indiana.
[email protected]

I am currently writing a course about Data Visualization for the college.

In the review of the course, one of the questions/concerns raised was with the Excel Recommended Charts tool. There was some concern that the recommended charts are not always the "best" charts for the datasets to be displayed. I was asked to address this, if possible.

I have done several online searches looking for articles I could link students to that discuss this issue. I have not found any. I was wondering if your site (or any other site/s you know of) has any articles, blog posts, etc., about when the Excel Chart Recommendation Tool may not provide the best recommendation/s.

Thank you for any help/guidance you can provide.

Mark
Hello Mark,

Thanks for posting your concern in this community.