[Solved] Open Embedded Excel Files Automatically

Jlkirk

I have a file ("Master File") that has several (>5) embedded/linked excel files ("Children") that in turn have several (>10) embedded/linked files as well ("Grandchildren"). What I woul like to happen is that when I open the Master File, all of the Children and Grandchildren would open automatically as well.
Any ideas?

Hello Jlkirk,
Thanks for reaching us. I understand that you want to open all embedded/linked Excel files automatically when the master file is opened. According to your description, your Excel files include multi-level linking (children files and grandchildren files). To open all these linked files automatically, we can run a VBA Workbook Event macro.
Here, I have taken a Master File that is Linked to 3 children files.

vQmNqC4ZrufgqfZu2fVlcH9mfQPCQg8xFJHd3FCgap4i7e6g4X_bLs4Uh54whOP76Dmd9awVrzuQNqjWw76w82eyO8kZ1KxcF7aRjufIXMUl8W6itOyp4ikiG5FMsNnPkTbJ8PwF5R2j2uYsKNkg4j0

Each of these 3 children files is linked to 3 grandchildren files.

IDhIsP5SBQtTcyUo6ODY8dTgYtfQ2kwQeVNYPfFoNP51siWVfNwGP7g19zBexfq55VlHoCFbKQSzv4qRU2xbYYPjAKaIeI_OR4pkZODfHp7hG4ipDNlR_jiJg07TnxzsZUyXqGY04jmkLvNUru08aPU

Therefore, I have a total of 9 grandchildren files. Each of these grandchildren files is formatted in the following format:​

9OxuMd4PCArD7AB2smq6Pj3Xo473qINDzRsoBjQSxSU3y2uubsKdl7M0i3PN8ylzyqI9n6eMKKemt8c10-oDEiaKqAOsnM_ww_9ugZu_nhEClAzIS8a1btBEZhkOnW1pcbgwT93LeHGuCWf5E9Pyjls

Now, to open all these files automatically, go to the Master File and press Alt + F11 keys to open the Visual Basic Editor window. Double Click on the ThisWorkbook option and enter the following code. Save the code.​
Code:
Private Sub Workbook_Open()

Dim i As Integer
    Dim oleObj As OLEObject
    Dim embeddedFilePath As String

For i = 1 To ThisWorkbook.Sheets.Count
        Set ws = ThisWorkbook.Sheets(i)
        For Each oleObj In ws.OLEObjects
            If InStr(1, oleObj.progID, "Excel.Sheet", vbTextCompare) > 0 Then